Home Sports-Free 10 parish players make All-District 1-5A softball first team

10 parish players make All-District 1-5A softball first team

Russell Hedges

Ten players from Bossier Parish teams have been named to the All-District 1-5A softball first team.
District champion Byrd and Haughton had the most first-team selections with five apiece.
The Lady Bucs and Airline shared second place in the district with 4-2 marks.
Haughton’s first-team selections are junior pitcher Anna Dies, freshman catcher Lacey Dodson, senior infielder Haley Krumpelbeck, senior infielder Brooke Payton and senior outfielder Kirsten Martin.
The Lady Bucs finished 18-11 and reached the second round of the state playoffs.
Airline placed two players on the first team — senior catcher Miranda Young and senior infielder Katie Smith.
The Lady Vikings finished 15-12 and lost in the first round of the playoffs.
Parkway had three-first team selections — senior infielder Carol Cash, junior outfielder Kelsey Gallman and junior designated player Alexis Rayborn.
The Lady Panthers finished 11-16 and lost in the first round of the playoffs
Pitcher Sarah Long of Byrd was named MVP. Byrd’s Mark Lambert took Coach of the Year honors.
Byrd had four other first-team selections. They are senior infielder Tara Schuler, junior infielder Tia Timerding, senior outfielder Shelby Spruiell and freshman utility Emily Daniel.
Other first-team selections are Captain Shreve senior infielders Anna Dunn and Jordan Hughes, and Southwood junior utility Niki Greer.
Airline placed four players on the second team — senior infielder Lindsey Fronzaglio, junior infielder Madison Rowland, senior outfielder Carly McIntosh and senior outfielder Ashley Salinas.
Haughton had four second-team selections — senior infielder Miranda Ogletree, junior infielder Natalie Smith, junior outfielder Jessica Blank and freshman utility Savannah O’Neal.
Parkway sophomore catcher Haydn Parker and junior utility Mary Kate Bozeman also made the second team.

Previous articleFire damages Bossier City business
Next articleBenton wins third straight Division II state golf title