Home Sports-Free Airline’s Taylor co-MVP on All-District 1-5A baseball team

Airline’s Taylor co-MVP on All-District 1-5A baseball team

Russell Hedges

Airline sophomore Cameron Taylor has been named co-MVP on the All-District 1-5A baseball team selected by the coaches.
Taylor shares the honor with Byrd’s Eric Miller. Airline and Byrd shared the district championship.
Taylor, a pitcher and outfielder, batted .368 and scored 23 runs. He went 3-1 on the mound with an ERA of 2.18 in 27 2-3 innings.
Miller, a senior shortstop, batted .392 with six doubles and 16 RBIs.
Twelve players from parish schools made the first team.
Other Airline selections were junior pitcher Andrew Maxey, sophomore utility Peyton Davis and senior utility Will Goodwin.
Maxey was 4-0 with an ERA of 2.73. He struck out 33 in 33 1-3 innings. Davis batted .265 with 19 RBIs. He batted .360 in district play. Goodwin hit .327 with 20 RBIs.
Parkway, which finished third in the district and doubled its win total from last season, put five players on the first team — senior pitcher Rob Harper, senior first baseman Kyle Laverdiere, junior outfielder Demetrius McAtee, junior utility Tyler Schilling and junior utility Carson Vaughn.
Harper posted a 1.29 ERA in 59.10 innings with 53 strikeouts. Laverdiere batted .322 with 17 RBIs. McAtee had 11 doubles and batted .277. Schilling had eight doubles, 25 RBIs and a .327 average. Vaughn batted .304 and had a 1.69 ERA.
Haughton placed three players on the first team — junior second baseman Sam Wallace, junior designated hitter Seth Ryan and senior utility John Tomb.
Wallace batted .358 with six doubles and 22 RBIs. Ryan had 31 RBIs and batted .337. Tomb had 15 doubles, 17 RBIs and a .348 average. He also had an on-base percentage of .492.
Byrd’s Jon Snyder (8-1, 1.84 ERA, 60 2-3 innings) was named Pitcher of the Year. Byrd’s Bobby Gilliam took Coach of the Year honors.
Other first-team selections were Captain Shreve pitcher Tanner Johnson, Byrd pitcher Jeep Henderson, Captain Shreve catcher Bryant Bowen, Southwood third baseman John Mike Barnett, Captain Shreve outfielder Madison Livingston and Byrd outfielder Brendan Maloney.
Airline placed three players on the second team — sophomore pitcher Kyle Backofen, junior second baseman Tanner Daniel and sophomore outfielder Jarrett Bamburg.
Also making second team were Haughton senior pitcher Bradley Bockhaus and Parkway senior pitcher Jon Koestner.

Previous articleInspiring a generation of readers
Next articleRetraction of online stories published Wednesday morning