Home Life August: Osage County opens Friday at Marjorie Lyons Playhouse

August: Osage County opens Friday at Marjorie Lyons Playhouse

Friends of Marjorie Lyons Playhouse announces its production of August: Osage County by Tracy Letts.

When the large Weston family unexpectedly reunites after Dad disappears, their Oklahoman family homestead explodes in a maelstrom of repressed truths and unsettling secrets. Mix in Violet, the drugged-up, scathingly acidic matriarch, and you’ve got a family drama that unflinchingly—and uproariously—exposes the dark side of the Midwestern American family.

Winner of the 2008 Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award for a staged-drama, and recently released as a film featuring Meryl Streep, Tracy Letts’ ferociously entertaining dysfunctional family play comes roaring into the twenty-first century with eyes blazing, nostrils flaring and fangs bared. Laced with corrosive humor so darkly delicious and ghastly that you’re sure to squirm in your seat even as you’re doubled-over laughing.

August: Osage County is directed by Nate Wasson, with Set Design by Don Hooper, Lighting Design by Courtney Gaston, Costume Design by Sasha Hildebrand, Wig and Makeup Design by Sondra Nottingham, & Fight Choreography by Andrew Dylan Ray.

August: Osage County will run for six performances, opening on August 12th and closing August 20th. All performances will be held at Marjorie Lyons Playhouse on the Centenary College campus. Dates and performance times are as follows:

Friday, August 12 – 7:00pm

Saturday, August 13 – 7:00pm

Sunday, August 14 – 2:00pm

Thursday, August 18 – 7:00pm

Friday, August 19 – 7:00pm

Saturday, August 20 – 7:00pm


Theatre Address:
Marjorie Lyons Playhouse
Centenary College
2700 Woodlawn Ave
Shreveport, LA 71104

Tickets are $25.00 and can be purchased by visiting the Box Office at the address listed above during operating hours, or by calling (318) 869-5242. The Box Office will be open Monday through Friday from 12:00pm-4:00pm, as well as an hour before each performance.

The full cast includes:

Beverly Weston………Richard Folmer

Violet Weston………..Cynthia Whitaker

Barbara Fordham…….Mary Thoma

Bill Fordham…………Garrett Kruithof

Jean Fordham……….    .Elizabeth Beagley

Ivy Weston………….    .Anna Maria Sparke

Karen Weston………..Kalah Roberts

Mattie Fae Aiken…….Heather Peak Hooper

Charlie Aiken…………Meade Patton

Little Charles Aiken….Logan Sledge

Johnna Monevata……..Rebecca Woodruff

Steve Heidebrecht…….Luke Sexton

Sheriff Deon Gilbeau…Jim Cowles

August: Osage County is presented by special arrangement with Dramatists Play Service, Inc., New York.

Previous articleLouisiana Outdoor Writers Association to host 71st Conference in Shreveport-Bossier
Next articlePhoto gallery: Haughton Thursday afternoon football practice