Benton, New Tech players honored on All-District basketball teams


Russell Hedges


Benton’s Gabby Jackson has been named to the All-District 1-4A girls basketball first team.

Jackson, a 6-foot forward, averaged 15 points and 10 rebounds for the Lady Tigers, who finished 20-12 and advanced to the playoffs.

Senior guard Megan Fream was named to the second team.

Fream averaged 10 points, three rebounds and five assists.

Benton’s LeLe Carper and Brandy Harris were named honorable mention.

Amber Smith of district co-champion Loyola was named MVP. Other first-team selections were Huntington’s Caitlin Jenkins, and Fair Park’s Ty’ronica Foster and Dominique Johnson.

Benton’s William Givens made the boys third team. Givens, a 6-3 junior, averaged 10.3 points and 6.8 rebounds.

Minden’s CJ Elkins was named MVP. Other first-team selections were Huntington’s Branden Sheppard, Fair Park’s D’Angelo McClinton, Huntington’s Johnny Woodard and Northwood’s Martavious Washington.

Two Louisiana New Tech at Plain Dealing players were named first team on the All-District 1-1A teams.

Chiner Long, a 6-1 junior guard, made the boys first long. Dranautika Thomas, a 5-11 eighth-grader, was selected to the girls first team.

Long averaged 13.5 points and four assists for the Lions, who finished 19-9 and made it to the second round of the playoffs.

Thomas averaged 9.8 points and 9.0 rebounds for the Lady Lions, who finished 17-13.

Keldrick Carper and Tray Harris made the boys second team. Camus Johnson, Ja’Carlius Stromile and Isaac Jacobs were honorable mention.

Teauna Perry and Deaspria Harris made the girls second team.

Hesey Stumon, Darmesha Noble and LaDravious Briggs were named honorable mention.