Home News-Free BHSAA announces scholarship recipients

BHSAA announces scholarship recipients

Mrs. Carolyn Grimsley, President, of the Bossier High School Alumni Association (BHSAA) announced the names of the six graduating seniors who are recipients of the 2016 scholarship awards.

The BHSAA formed in 2005 and began making annual scholarship awards to graduating seniors in 2006.  Sixty-eight awards have been made to date.

Five seniors received awards of $500 each.  The students are Anna Acuna Herrera, Lindsey Holmes, Megan Taylor, Brett Gates and Rhykime Smith.

Grimsley reported that Brenda Sandoval Acuna is this year’s recipient of the Commander Wayne Horn Award, a $2,000 award.  Horn an outstanding scholar athlete at BHS in ’63, ’64, and ’65 was named the Best Male Citizen by his BHS Senior Class of 1965.
Following college, Wayne served as a junior officer managing ordinance aboard the forward based attack aircraft carrier, USS Oriskany during the Vietnam War.  Horn returned to complete a medical degree after his Navy service.  Dr. Horn then returned to the United States Navy and advanced to direct U. S. Navy Submarine Rescue and Medical Research.
Dr. Horn related at his induction into the BHSAA Hall of Fame, that a major project undertaken before his retirement was collaborating with NASA (The National Aeronautical and Space Administration) in the planning of the first manned mission to Mars.
Miss Acuna was previously named Bossier High’s Valedictorian (#1 of 140).  She was named also as The Outstanding Bossier High Student of 2016.

The Horn Scholarship is based on Academic Achievement, Citizenship, Character, and Involvement in Student Athletics and Activities, in the Bossier Community, and Church.  A final requirement is Need.

Acuna is a non-resident “Dreamer” aspiring to US citizenship.  This status made her ineligible for a TOPS Scholarship and others awards normally going to valedictorians.  The BHSAA and donor agreed that Brenda is that excellent BearKat deserving of this award.
Brenda served as President of the BHS National Honor Society and of the 2016 Senior Class.  She was Editor of BHS’s Les Memoires Yearbook.  Brenda was named to the Mayor’s Commission on Women, Louisiana Girl’s State, and the SciPort Design Team.   She participated in a number of academic rallies during her Bossier High years.  She is active in working as student mentor and in the youth outreach activities of Christ The King Catholic Church.  Brenda was chosen Homecoming Queen.  She is Bossier High School’s 100th Valedictorian.

In an earlier Class of BHSAA scholarship honorees was a “Dreamer” of an earlier time.   Mr. Marco Reyes came with parents and siblings from Mexico to work and begin life in the United States on a farm near Taylortown,  LA.  A stellar student Marco graduated from Centenary University and currently works as Bossier High School’s award winning Algebra, Calculus, and Advanced Math Teacher.

2016 officers of the BHSAA are:   Carolyn Grimsley, President; Rita Horton, Treasurer; Thomas Knowles, Executive Secretary; Cindy Cockerham, Recording Secretary; Terry Snook,  Scholarship Committee.

Mrs. Grimsley related that the BHSAA and Bossier High School are soon to begin celebrating the Centennial Celebration of Bossier High becoming a Louisiana chartered high school High School (1917-2017).

She also noted that 2016 is the 90th anniversary of naming the BHS mascot, The BearKats!  The name was chosen as BHS launched Bossier City’s first football season in 1926.

The BearKats continue to bask in the glow of their triumphant 2016 Louisiana State Basketball Championship.   These are to be remembered in the 2016 BHSAA Sports and Spirit Hall of Fame (The Centennial Edition) this fall.

David Thrash is BHS’s principal.  Doug Scott and Michelle Tugwell are Assistant Principals.   Thrash, a Louisiana State Principal of the Year, recently finished in the top 3 finalists for Superintendent of Bossier Parish Schools.

President Grimsley stated that Bossier High is “Standing like a rock in the Heart of Beautiful Downton Bossier City” thanks to the dedicated BHS faculty, coaches, staff, and administration.

Previous articleBCPD announces officer promotions
Next articleMontgomery receives BPCC honor


Comments are closed.