Home News-Free Biedenharn Foundation Gifts $60,000 to Bossier Educators

Biedenharn Foundation Gifts $60,000 to Bossier Educators

Recipients of the 2022 Sydney Biedenharn Educators Endowment (Randy Brown, Bossier Press-Tribune)

Two dozen Bossier Parish educators were on the receiving end of $60,000 to further engage students in the
classroom and cultivate lifelong learners, thanks to the generous support of the Biedenharn Foundation.

Now in its eighth year, the Sydney Biedenharn Educators Endowment was established in memory of the late
educator who once taught in Bossier Parish and whose children attended Bossier Schools. The Biedenharn
family owned the Coca-Cola Bottling Company in Shreveport and, to date, the Foundation has funded grants
for Bossier Parish teachers totaling $335,000.

“The investment the Biedenharn Foundation has made over the years to support our educators and students is
nothing short of amazing and we could not be more grateful,” said Mitch Downey, Superintendent of Bossier
Schools. “No other profession affects all of society’s children the way teaching does and Sydney Biedenharn
believed in the power of education and philanthropy. We are honored to carry on her legacy.”

Elementary winners of the 2022 Sydney Biedenharn Educators Endowment are: Jeanne Fulco, Benton; Angi
Reger and Molly McAdoo, Legacy; Leslie Alexander, Meadowview; Lynn Gabbard, Meadowview; Christina
Rasar, Princeton; Jaimee Mercer, Stockwell Place; and Ashley Johnscher, Waller.

Middle School recipients are: Sue Ellen Bates, Benton; Kim Howell, Benton; Yvonne Barrier and Mary Smith,
Cope; Belvia Brock, Rusheon; Ceson Ponder, Rusheon; and Dr. Natalie Pope and Rachel Berry, Rusheon.

Winners from the high school level and other programs include: Kelly Birdsong, Benton; Aimee Shelton,
Bossier; James Snyder, Parkway; Shontell Davis, Bossier School Virtual Learning Program; School Resource
Officer Adam Edwards and Duane Hill, Butler Educational Complex; and Hannah Spence, Bossier Schools
Talented Arts Program.

Previous articleThe LSUS Institute for Nonprofit Administration and Research (INAR) Announces Advisory Board Members
Next articleBossier City Council supports Amtrak passenger rail service