Home Sports-Free Bossier All-Stars win O-Zone district title

Bossier All-Stars win O-Zone district title


Russell Hedges



The Bossier All-Stars won the Dixie O-Zone (12-year-olds) District 4 baseball championship Monday night with a 14-11 victory over the Shreveport All-Stars.

Garrett Hable had two home runs for Bossier, including a two-run shot in the fourth. Harrison Tauzin also had a two-run homer in the fourth. Will Tynes hit a solo shot in the first.

Turner Toms pitched a solid 4 2-3 innings to get the win. Toms struck out four in a row at one point early in the game. Hable pitched the final 1 1-3.

Bossier went 3-0 in the tournament.

Tauzin homered three times and singled in Bossier’s 24-17 first-round victory over Shreveport.

Caleb Reese had two home runs. Toms and Christopher Lutterman both singled and homered. Andrew Robinson, Parker Stevens and Tynes all had two singles, and Hable singled and doubled. Cole Horton added a single.

Bossier defeated DeSoto 19-9 in its second game. Hable doubled and homered and Tynes homered to lead Bossier. Tauzin and Reese both had two singles and a double. Horton, Trace Vorachek and Parker Stevens all had two hits.

C.J. McHahon, Peyton Cannon and Andrew Robinson also contributed to the championship run.

Bossier qualified for the O-Zone state tournament July 19-23 at the Lawson “Bo” Brandon Complex in Princeton.

In the AAA (10-year-olds) district tournament, the Bossier All-Stars remained undefeated and moved within one win of the title with a 21-11 victory over the Nola All-Stars on Monday.

Dane Stearns led Bossier against Nola with three hits. Grayson Mims, Hunter Delcomyn, Ty Taylor and Adam Johnson had triples. Lucas McKain and Ryan Ward had doubles.

Ashur Hall, Liam Rogers, McKain, Mims, Delcomyn, Taylor and Johnson had two hits apiece.

The Benton All-Stars stayed alive with a 7-5 victory over Union Parish.

Ryley Sharp led Benton with three hits, including a double. Damon Burrell, Owen Wainscott and Cody Jones had two hits apiece. Grayson Gates had three RBIs.

Bossier defeated Benton 12-10 in the second extra inning Tuesday night to win the title.

Russell Hedges/Press-Tribune Bossier All-Star Garrett Hable bats against Shreveport Monday. Hable hit two home runs in the  14-11 victory.
Russell Hedges/Press-Tribune
Bossier All-Star Garrett Hable bats against Shreveport Monday. Hable hit two home runs in the 14-11 victory.

Bossier edged Benton 10-9 Sunday night in the winners’ bracket finals.

Taylor tripled and singled for Bossier, and Stearns had two singles.

Johnson and Cody Gallman both doubled. Mims, Gavin Morales, Cullen Dowling, Delcomyn, McKain and Rogers all singled.

Wainscott singled and homered to lead Benton. Sharp singled three times and Cade Waites and Rylan Lawrence both doubled. Jones and Gates both singled.

Other members of the Benton All-Stars are Brock VanHoy, Adam Smith, Jesse Coile, Hunter Newton, Cameron Braun and Hunter Holmes.

In the AAA 9s tournament, the Benton All-Stars qualified for the state tournament with a 6-5 victory over Union Parish Sunday night.

Kade Davis singled and doubled to lead Benton. Cade Stewart, Sam Dominick and Austin Ballard all singled. Sam Sippel added a double.

The state tournament is July 12-14 in Pineville.


Gregg Parks of the Minden Press-Herald contributed to this report.



Previous articleState substance abuse counselors association to hold conference at DiamondJacks
Next articleSchool construction