Home News-Free Bossier Parish Election Results for Oct. 24

Bossier Parish Election Results for Oct. 24

Senate seat headed for runoff; new clerk of court elected; tax assessor re-elected

State Rep. Henry Burns and Bossier City attorney Ryan Gatti will meet in a runoff for the Louisiana Senate District 36 seat.

Henry Burns
Henry Burns

Burns, R-Haughton, received 40 percent of the vote to 34 percent for fellow Republican Gatti. Businessman and cattleman Todd Hollenshead, a Democrat from Bossier City, was third with 26 percent of the vote, according to complete but unofficial returns.

Burns and Gatti are running to succeed Sen. Robert Adley of Benton, who was term limited. The Senate seat represents all of Bienville and Webster parishes and

Ryan Gatti
Ryan Gatti

parts of Bossier, Claiborne and Red River parishes. Burns gave up his House seat to run for the Senate.

Dodie Horton, the legislative assistant to current state Rep. Henry Burns, won the District 9 seat in the House, defeating Mike McHalffey. Horton, a Republican, received 65 percent of the vote to 35 percent for McHallfey, a Republican, according to the unofficial results.

Jill Sessions

Jill Sessions was elected the next clerk of court for Bossier Parish on Saturday, handily defeating a candidate from the district attorney’s office. Sessions, who is currently the chief deputy clerk of court, will succeed Cindy Johnston, who did not seek re-election.

Sessions received 74 percent of the vote to 26 percent for Monica Hudson, according to complete but unofficial returns. Hudson works for District Attorney Schuyler Marvin as the victims’ rights advocate.

Tax Assessor Bobby Edmiston won re-election, easily defeating challenger Patsy Maggio. Edmiston received 76 percent of the vote to 24 percent for Maggio, according to complete but unofficial returns.

Three of the 12 incumbent police jurors had challengers but all three were re-elected. Results of the three contested elections for seats on the Bossier Parish Police Jury.

District 4: Sonny Cook (I), 54 percent; John Ed Jorden, 46 percent.

District 5: Jack Skaggs (I), 63 percent; Barry Butler, 37 percent.

District 9: Freddy Shewmake (I), 60 percent; Charles Gray, 40 percent.
{(I) indicates incumbent}

Previous articlePhoto gallery: Evangel vs. Airline, Benton vs. Woodlawn
Next articleChristmas in Roseland seeking performers