Home Sports-Free Champion Airline sweeps individual honors on All-District 1-5A baseball team

Champion Airline sweeps individual honors on All-District 1-5A baseball team

Champion Airline swept the individual honors on the All-District 1-5A baseball team selected by the district’s coaches.

Junior shortstop/pitcher Cameron Parikh was named the Most Valuable Player. Senior Cameron Taylor took Pitcher of the Year honors. Toby Todd was named Coach of the Year.

Parikh went 7-2 on the mound for the season with a 1.94 ERA. He had 50 strikeouts in 57 2/3 innings. In district play, he was 3-0 with a 1.52 ERA.

Parikh hit .388 for the season with 11 doubles, one triple and 18 RBI. He also stole 13 bases.

Taylor was 8-1 for the season with a 1.42 ERA. He struck out 64 in 59 innings. Taylor was 4-0 in district with a 0.30 ERA. He struck out 32 in 23 innings while walking just four.

Todd guided the Vikings to their third straight district title. Airline went 11-1 in district play. State runner-up Byrd was second at 9-3.

Airline finished 30-6 overall after losing to Byrd two games to one in a Class 5A quarterfinal series.

Other Vikings making the first team were senior pitcher Kyle Backofen and senior third baseman Peyton Davis.

Backofen, a Louisiana-Monroe signee, was 8-2 for the season with a 2.44 ERA. He struck out 76 in 63 innings. Backofen was 3-1 in district and struck out 34 in 24 1/3 innings.

Davis, a Northwestern State signee, batted .388 for the season with 34 RBI, 18 doubles, one triple and six home runs. He batted .442 in district play with six doubles, two home runs and 10 RBI.

Haughton placed three players on the first team — senior pitcher Triston Carmack, senior second baseman Reid Wilson and senior designated hitter Andrew Sewell.

Carmack, an LSU Eunice signee, went 5-2 with a 1.61 ERA for the season. He also had two saves. Carmack was 3-1 in district with a 1.06 ERA. He struck out 29 in 26 1/3 innings.

Wilson batted .300 with nine doubles and 16 RBI. He hit .353 and had 12 RBI in district play. Sewell batted .326 with seven doubles and 14 RBI. He hit .368 in district play.

Airline senior first baseman Austin Zickefoose, junior catcher Josh James, junior second baseman Jonathan Brandon, senior outfielder Jarrett Bamburg and senior outfielder/pitcher Hayden Waxley made the second team.

Haughton senior shortstop Tyler Davis and Parkway freshman shortstop Eric Brown were also second-team selections.

— Russell Hedges, rhedges@bossierpress.com

Previous articleAll-District 1-5A baseball team
Next articleAirline’s Roberts to play in softball all-star games; ex-Airline coach to be honored