Home Sports-Free College baseball: Former Airline star Couch, BPCC’s Mills make All-Louisiana second team

College baseball: Former Airline star Couch, BPCC’s Mills make All-Louisiana second team

Staff Reports 

Former Airline star Jerry Couch and BPCC infielder Andrew Mills have been named to the Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-Louisiana second team.

Couch helped LSU Eunice win the NJCAA Division II national championship. He went 12-1 with a 3.82 earned run average. Couch was dominate in postseason play, going 3-0 in four starts including a pair of wins in the World Series. 

The NJCAA World Series Most Outstanding Pitcher and Charleston Southern signee was crucial in LSUE’s Regional Championship victory as well as forcing the deciding Game 3 in the Championship Series. 

Mills, a sophomore first baseman, batted .353 with 13 home runs, 11 doubles and 53 RBI.

Hitter of the Year – Hunter Wells, Louisiana Tech

Pitcher of the Year – Landon Marceaux, LSU

Freshman of the Year – Dylan Crews, LSU

Newcomer of the Year – Drake Osborn, UL-Lafayette

Coach of the Year – Lane Burroughs, Louisiana Tech


P – Connor Cooke, UL-Lafayette

P – Will Dion, McNeese 

P – Jonathan Fincher, Louisiana Tech

P – Landon Marceaux, LSU

C – Bennett Lee, Tulane

1B – Tre’ Morgan, LSU

2B – Taylor Young, Louisiana Tech

SS – Collin Burns, Tulane

3B – Hunter Wells, Louisiana Tech

OF – Parker Bates, Louisiana Tech

OF – Dylan Crews, LSU

OF – Clayton Rasbeary, McNeese

DH – Jarrett McDonald, LSU-Eunice

UT – Brayden Jobert, Delgado CC


P – Jerry Couch, LSU-Eunice

P – Keagan Gillies, Tulane

P – Ma’Khail Hilliard, LSU

P – Joe Taylor, Nicholls

P – Will Warren, Southeastern Louisiana

(*) – Tie for second-team; five pitchers are included 

C – Drake Osborn, UL-Lafayette 

1B – Andrew Mills, Bossier Parish CC

2B – Jack Merrifield, LSU-Eunice

SS – Jordan Ardoin, LSU-Alexandria

3B – Cade Doughty, LSU

OF – Gavin Dugas, LSU

OF – Pearce Howard, New Orleans

OF – Steele Netterville, Louisiana Tech 

DH – Ben Fitzgerald, UL-Lafayette

UT – Manny Garcia, Louisiana Tech


P – Brennan Stuprich, Southeastern Louisiana

1B – Michael Calamari, Loyola

2B – Nate Fisbeck, McNeese

2B – Payton Alexander, Loyola

OF – Kody Kolb, LSU-Shreveport

OF – William Veillon, Baton Rouge CC

DH – Taylor Fajardo, LSU-Shreveport

UT – Preston Ludwick, Centenary College

Previous articleFewer students, but more money for schools in Louisiana
Next article[OPINION] Smith: Looking forward to working with new City administration