Home News-Free Dist. Judge Ford Stinson to retire

Dist. Judge Ford Stinson to retire

District Judge Ford Edwards Stinson, Jr. of the 26th Judicial District Court for Bossier and Webster Parishes has announced that he will retire at the end of his current term, effective December 31, 2014.

Stinson is the senior judge on the Court having been elected in 1996 and taking office on January 1, 1997. He also is serving as Chief Judge for the Court. Stinson served eight years on the executive committee for the Louisiana District Judges Association.

Stinson made the decision to announce his retirement at this time so that those interested in being candidates for the position would have adequate time to prepare their campaigns.

“I have been honored to serve the people of Bossier and Webster Parishes as District Judge and I look forward to continuing to serve during 2014,” Stinson said.

Stinson is the sixth of now eight generations of the Stinson family to live in Bossier Parish. He is a direct descendant of several pioneer Bossier Parish families with many members having been involved in public service.

Including his tenure as judge, the service of his family to the public has spanned parts of three centuries. His great, great grandfather, Maj. R.E. Wyche, served as sheriff of Bossier Parish from 1878-1889. His great grandfather, Ford Edwards, served as sheriff of Bossier Parish from 1904 until 1920.

Stinson’s grandfather, Robert T. Stinson, was Bossier Parish Treasurer from 1913 until 1919. His father, Ford Edwards Stinson, served on the Benton Board of Aldermen from 1936-1940 and in the Louisiana House of Representatives from 1940-1944 and 1952-1972.

Stinson’s father also was one of the two delegates elected from Bossier Parish to serve in the Louisiana Constitutional Convention of 1973. Judge Stinson’s mother, Edna Earle Richardson Stinson, was the first woman in the history of the parish to serve as foreman of a Bossier Parish grand jury. His wife, Suzanne Harper Stinson, has served as Court Administrator for the 26th Judicial District where she has been employed since 1982.

Previous articleJim Turley
Next articleNancy Gray Mason McGee