Home Sports-Free Eight Benton players make first-team All-District 1-4A

Eight Benton players make first-team All-District 1-4A


Russell Hedges

The district champion Benton Tigers placed eight players on the All-District 1-4A baseball first team, including co-MVP Cameron Horton.
Horton, a junior, shared MVP honors with Minden’s Turner Francis. Last year, Francis and Benton’s Jordan Shaffer were named co-MVPs.
Northwestern State signee Shaffer, a pitcher and shortstop, was named to the first team this year at shortstop.
Other Benton first -team selections were junior first baseman Branson Woodward, sophomore outfielder Wade Grubbs, junior outfielder Josh Scherer, senior pitcher Aaron Henigan, junior pitcher Aaron Sheppard, and junior utility Jaret Gill.
Benton finished 28-9 overall and advanced to the quarterfinals of the playoffs. The Tigers were 11-1 in district.
Horton, a third baseman, batted .392 with eight home runs, nine doubles, one triple and 44 RBIs.
Shaffer, who pitched two no-hitters, was 7-2 on the mound with a 1.80 ERA. He had 79 strikeouts in 54 innings.
Shaffer also batted .314 with 14 doubles and 26 RBIs.
Henigan was 9-2 with an ERA of 2.42. He had 78 strikeouts in 66 2-3 innings.
Sheppard was 5-2 with a 1.21 ERA. He struck out 53 in 46 innings.
Gill batted .308 with three home runs, eight doubles and 27 RBIs.
Woodward, who missed the early part of the season because of an injury, hit four home runs. Grubbs batted .360.
Benton’s Jackson Rutledge, Peyton Leflett and Taylor Ward were honorable mention selections.
Minden placed five players on the first team in addition to Francis — catcher Hunter Leppert, third baseman Austin Sumner, outfielder Mikey James, utility Sawyer Stephens and pitcher Carson Bolyer.
Four Northwood players made the first team — catcher Slade Baker, outfielder Deauton Delgado, utility Cole Barnette and pitcher Timmy Yelverton.
Loyola also had four first -team picks — second baseman Kyle Shapen, utility Austin Townsend, and pitchers Whit Walker and Nathan Jones.
Other first team selections were North DeSoto outfielder Hunter Speights, Fair Park utility Lowel Gault and Huntington pitcher Braylyn Maiden.
The All-District 1-4A team was selected by the district’s coaches.

Previous articleHaughton Rangers Invitational starts today
Next articleBossier natives graduate from LSUS