Finalists named in BPCC chancellor search


Public forums to be scheduled for March 17

After a comprehensive and nationwide search, the applicant pool for the next chancellor of Bossier Parish Community College (BPCC) has been narrowed to four finalists.

BPCCThe finalists are, in alphabetical order, Dr. Douglas “Rick” Bateman, Dr. Barbara Jones, Dr. Larissa Littleton-Steib and Dr. Kimberly A. Russell. An open and competitive chancellor search began late last year and the application process produced a very deep and talented group of qualified applicants.

“In December, our board set out to find a chancellor who would be the best fit for BPCC, and I believe we have identified a tremendous group of diverse, experienced and respected educational and workforce leaders,” said Tim Hardy, chair of the search committee and first vice chair of the LCTCS Board of Supervisors. “I encourage the entire Shreveport-Bossier community to engage in the campus forums.”

Each finalist will interview with the Bossier Parish Community College Chancellor Search Committee on Tuesday, March 17, 2015. The finalists will also participate in a series of public forums. Community members are encouraged to attend the public forums which will take place at: BPCC, 6220 East Texas Street, Bossier City, LA 71111. The complete schedule for the Tuesday, March 17 public forums will be announced next week.

In addition to the public forums, each candidate will interview privately with Louisiana Community and Technical College System President Monty Sullivan.

Finalist Bios:

Dr. Douglas “Rick” Bateman

Dr. Douglas “Rick” Bateman currently serves as the Interim Director of Northwest Louisiana Technical College and Interim Chancellor at Bossier Parish Community College, LA. Previously, Dr. Bateman was the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Student Success at SOWELA Technical Community College in Lake Charles, LA. Dr. Bateman earned a Doctor of Philosophy in Educational Administration from the University of Texas at Austin, TX, a Master of Religious Education from Loyola University New Orleans, LA and a Bachelor of Arts in History from the University of California at Los Angeles, CA.

Dr. Barbara Jones

Dr. Barbara Jones serves as President of South Arkansas Community College, AK. Previously, Dr. Jones served as the dean of instruction at Louisiana Delta Community College in Monroe, LA. Dr. Jones earned a Doctor of Philosophy in Administration, Curriculum, and Instruction with Specialty in Educational Leadership in Higher Education from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, NE., a Master of Health and Science from Louisiana State University Health Science Center-Shreveport, LA and a Bachelor of Science in Medical Technology from University of Louisiana-Monroe, LA.

Dr. Larissa Littleton-Steib

Dr. Larissa Littleton-Steib serves as the Vice Chancellor for Workforce Development and Technical Education at Delgado Community College, LA. Previously, Dr. Littleton-Steib served as the Executive Dean of the West Bank Campus at Delgado Community College, LA. Previously, Dr. Littleton-Steib served as the Executive Dean of the West Bank Campus at Delgado Community College, LA. Dr. Littleton-Steib earned a Doctor of Philosophy in Urban Higher Education Administration from Jackson State University, MS a Master of Arts in Post-Secondary Counseling and a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and English from Xavier University of New Orleans, LA.

Dr. Kimberly A. Russell

Dr. Kimberly A. Russell serves as Vice President for Advancement and External Affairs and Executive Director of the Tyler Junior College Foundation at Tyler Junior College, TX. Previously, Dr. Russell served as the Director of Foundation and Corporate Relations at LeTourneau University, TX. Dr. Russell earned a Doctor of Education in Higher Education Administration with a minor in Economics and a Master of Arts in English from the University of North Texas, Denton, TX and a Bachelor of Arts in English with a minor in Business from the University of Texas at Tyler, TX.