Home Sports-Free High school basketball: Defending 4A champ Bossier boys among teams competing in...

High school basketball: Defending 4A champ Bossier boys among teams competing in annual Paul Millsap Classic Saturday at BPCC

The defending Class 4A boys state champion Bossier Bearkats will face 2016 Class 3A runner-up Wossman in the fourth annual Paul Millsap Classic on at 7:30 p.m. Saturday at BPCC.

The Bossier-Wossman game is the seventh of eight games in the event.

It starts at 10:30 a.m. with Southwood taking on Red River in the only girls game.

The rest of the schedule: Minden vs. Evangel, noon; Carroll vs. Captain Shreve, 1:30 p.m.; Opelousas vs. Byrd, 3; St. Thomas More vs. Huntington, 4:30; Atlanta vs. Fair Park, 6; Union Parish vs. North Caddo, 9.

Tickets are $10. One ticket is good for all games.

The event is sponsored by Louisiana Youth Developmental along with Louisiana Select Team Millsap.

Millsap, a star at Louisiana Tech from 2003-06, is currently a power forward for the Atlanta Hawks. He has been selected to the NBA East Division All-Star team the last three seasons.

“It gives me great honor to be a part of this event for the past three year and I hope this years event is as good as the last three,” Millsap said in a press release.

In addition to Bossier, the event features some of the state’s top teams.

St. Thomas More lost to Bossier 49-48 in the Class 4A semifinals last season. North Caddo was a Class 2A semifinalist.

Atlanta is a traditional Class C power. The Bulldogs lost in the semifinals last season after finishing runner-up in 2015.

Fair Park finished runner-up to Bossier in District 1-4A and reached the quarterfinals last season.

Carroll, which was Class 3A quarterfinalist last season, features 6-foot-8 Northwestern State signee Larry Owens.

Wossman features another NSU signee, guard C.J. Jones, who averaged 23.3 points last season.

— Russell Hedges, rhedges@bossierpress.com

Previous articleBrown: Being Thankful
Next articlePro football: Former Haughton star Prescott helps Cowboys win 10th in a row