Home Sports-Free High school cross country: Benton boys win District 1-4A title

High school cross country: Benton boys win District 1-4A title


The Benton Tigers won the District 1-4A boys cross country championship Saturday morning at Cypress.

Benton finished runner-up in the girls division behind Caddo Magnet.

Benton placed six runners in the top eight in the boys division. Chandler Burns was the runner-up followed by Jacob Marcinkus and Hagos Easter.

Burns covered the course in 14 minutes, 53.2 seconds. Caddo Magnet’s Luke Harris won in 14:33.2. Marcinkus ran a 15:00.1 and Easter a 15:01.3

Benton’s Mclean Smith, Mason Harley and Austin Parker finished sixth through eighth, respectively. Mikias Cooper, Hudson Harris and Magnus Cromwell finished 11-13.

Caddo Magnet had the top three finishers in the girls division led by champion Storm Burton, who ran a 19:03.1.

Benton’s Bayleigh Parker finished fourth in 20:44.8 and Sairelys Hernandez fifth in 21:14.5. Kaitlyn Skeloric, Cassie Wilde, Adrianna Miller and Gin Strickland finished seventh through 10th, respectively.

Bossier’s Mariana Ortega was 12th. Marlene Tejada and Anzuri Lopez finished 14-15. Emily Taylor was 17th.

All five Bossier runners ran personal-record times.

Previous articleHigh school football: Haughton holds off Parkway in hard-fought battle between parish rivals
Next articleObituary – Lt. General Edgar S. Harris, Jr. USAF (ret.)