Home Sports-Free High school cross country: Parkway sweeps District 1-5A titles

High school cross country: Parkway sweeps District 1-5A titles


Parkway swept the boys’ and girls’ team and individual titles in the District 1-5A Cross Country Championships on Thursday at South Bossier Park.

Cole Billiot won the boys’ division, and Adrianna Wilder won the girls’.

The Parkway boys scored 29 points. Airline finished runner-up with 35. The Parkway girls scored 27 points to 60 for runner-up Airline. Haughton finished third with 87, one ahead of Captain Shreve.

Billiot covered the 3-mile course in 15 minutes, 37 seconds. Airline freshman Will Dart held off Parkway’s Cameron Rogers at the finish to take the runner-up spot. Dart ran a 16:03, 1 second faster than Rogers.

Parkway and Airline runners took the 13 of the top 14 places.

Other Panthers in the scoring were David Morgan (seventh, 16:37), Andrew Robinson (eighth, 16:42) and Christian Nevins (10th, 16:52). Other Vikings in the scoring were Taejon Morris (fifth, 16:29), Seth Papineau (sixth, 16:33), Joshua Burns (ninth, 16:44) and Xavier Wilson (13th, 17:13.79).

Parkway’s Brencen Delacruz and Tyler Kruithof finished 11th and 12th, respectively. Austin Jacobsen was 14th.

Parkway took three of the top four spots in the girls division.

Wilder ran a 19:26, 18 seconds faster than teammate and runner-up Lindsey Hutcheson. Haughton’s Emily Sharp was third in 20:31 and Parkway’s Carly Hanson fourth in 20:51.

Other Lady Panthers in the scoring were Keely Reed (ninth, 22:09) and Alyssa Ramirez (11th, 22:38). Teammates Jazz Rasouliyan and Ariel McGaffey finished 12th and 13th, respectively.

Bethanie Dunn led Airline with a sixth-place finish in 21:20. Anneliese Jones finished eighth in 21:51. Other Lady Vikings in the scoring were Kimmi Yarrington (14th, 23:17), Riley Lear (15th, 23:49) and Hailey Wainwright (17th, 24:01).

The top 10 runners in each division made the All-District 1-5A teams with the winners earning MVP honors. Byrd’s Austin Mikovich along with those mentioned above from Airline and Parkway made the boys’ team.

In addition to the Airline, Parkway and Haughton runners mentioned above, Captain Shreve’s Georgia Hilburn (fifth), Shreve’s Olivia Hilburn (seventh) and Byrd’s Grace Loftin (10th) made the girls’ team.

The Class 5A state meet in Nov. 15 at Northwestern State.

— Russell Hedges, rhedges@bossierpress.com

Previous articleHigh school volleyball: Airline wins District 1-I championship
Next articleMiddle school student arrested for threatening school


Comments are closed.