Home Sports-Free Independence Bowl announces all-time team in celebration of college football’s 150th season

Independence Bowl announces all-time team in celebration of college football’s 150th season

Erik Evenson, Walk-On’s Independence Bowl Director of Media and Community Relations

In celebration of the 150th anniversary of college football, the Walk-On’s Independence Bowl has named the 44-year-old game’s all-time team by position – as voted on by the media that currently covers and has covered the Independence Bowl.

The team features players from each of the five decades in the bowl’s history – led by 11 players from the 1990’s.

Players from 15 different schools are represented on the team, with LSU leading the way with five players.

Texas A&M and Virginia Tech are both represented by three different players, while Louisiana Tech, McNeese State and Ole Miss all have two players on the team.

The 1995 Independence Bowl between LSU and Michigan State provides the most players of all individual games with six players – five LSU positions and one Michigan State player.

The Independence Bowl’s All-Time Team features five College Football Hall of Famers (Ray Childress – Texas A&M, Willie Roaf – Louisiana Tech, Bruce Smith – Virginia Tech, Leonard Smith – McNeese State, and Scott Thomas – Air Force), as well as two Pro Football Hall of Famers (Roaf and Smith). The entire Independence Bowl All-Time Team is listed by position below:



  • Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2002)

Running Back

  • Kevin Faulk (LSU, 1995 & 1997)
  • Deuce McAllister (Ole Miss, 1998 & 1999)

Wide Receiver

  • Eddie Kennison (LSU, 1995)
  • Isaiah Ford (Virginia Tech, 2015)

Tight End

  • Jaylen Samuels (NC State, 2016)

Offensive Line

  • Willie Roaf (Louisiana Tech, 1990)
  • Flozell Adams (Michigan State, 1995)
  • Alan Faneca (LSU, 1995 & 1997)
  • Pork Chop Womack (Mississippi State, 2000)
  • Andre Smith (Alabama, 2006 & 2007)


Defensive Line

  • Ray Childress (Texas A&M, 1981)
  • Bruce Smith (Virginia Tech, 1984)
  • Gabe Northern (LSU, 1995)
  • Von Miller (Texas A&M, 2009)


  • Lovie Smith (Tulsa, 1976)
  • Otis Wilson (Louisville, 1977)
  • Takeo Spikes (Auburn, 1996)

Defensive Back

  • Leonard Smith (McNeese State, 1980)
  • Scott Thomas (Air Force, 1983 & 1984)
  • Antonio Banks (Virginia Tech, 1993)
  • Roy Williams (Oklahoma, 1999)
  • Weldon Brown (Louisiana Tech, 2008)



  • David Hardy (Texas A&M, 1981)


  • Terry McFarland (McNeese State, 1976)

Kick & Punt Returner

  • Eddie Kennison (LSU, 1995)

Head Coach

  • David Cutcliffe (Ole Miss, 1998, 1999 & 2002 / Duke, 2018)

David Cutcliffe is the Independence Bowl’s winningest coach with a record of 4-0 in four appearances -three with Ole Miss and one with Duke.

Some of the most prominent and recognizable names have coached in the Independence Bowl throughout the game’s 43-year history. Other coaches receiving votes were Jack Doland (McNeese State, 1980), Frank Beamer (Virginia Tech, 1993 and 2015), Nick Saban (Michigan State, 1995/Alabama, 2007) and Steve Spurrier (South Carolina, 2005 and 2014).

Previous articleShreveport’s Brando to receive inaugural LSHOF Ambassador Award, join 2020 induction class
Next articleMen’s college basketball: Clark leads BPCC to conference victory