Home Higher Ed LSUS honors 2016 Student Leaders, Professor of the Year

LSUS honors 2016 Student Leaders, Professor of the Year

Courtesy Photo | Students at LSUS who received awards from the 2016 Student Leadership Awards

Student Leadership is important at LSUS.

As a way to honor and thank everyone for their dedication and support, the Student Activities Board, Student Government Association and the Student Organization Council at LSUS sponsored the 2016 Student Leadership Awards and Professor of the Year Awards today.

The event was held in the University Center Ballroom and featured LSUS Alumna Darrell Rebouche as the guest speaker.

Mr. Rebouche delivered a wonderful message about how to hold yourself to a higher standard and look towards success in your future. Knowing where they want to go in life is exactly what has allowed the LSUS students to excel in so many areas.
“These awards are important because as students, we need to thank our faculty and student leaders for their service to our university,” said Student Government Association President Dennis Henderson.


Greek Week Winners: Tau Kappa Epsilon

Outstanding Greek Woman of the Year: Allyssa Baumeister, Phi Mu

Outstanding Greek Man of the Year: Kole Grain, Tau Kappa Epsilon

Outstanding Greek Organization of the Year: Sigma Phi Iota

Outstanding New Student Organization: Game Development Club

Outstanding Growth of a Student Organization: Minority Association of Pre-Health Students

Outstanding Campus Service: Baptist Collegiate Ministry

Outstanding Community Service: Alpha Epsilon Delta

Outstanding Student Organization Advisor of the Year: Dr. Tara Williams-Hart, Alpha Epsilon Delta, Minority Association of Pre-Health Students, Pre-Dental Society

Outstanding Student Organization Leader of the Year: Zara Collins, Louisiana Association of Educators- Student Program

Outstanding Student Organization of the Year: Alpha Epsilon Delta

Student Government Association Senator of the Year: Elizabeth Kemp

Professor of the Year in the College of Arts and Sciences: Dr. Alexander Mikaberidze Professor of the Year in the College of Business, Education and Human Development: Ms. Rhonda Failey



Next articleBossier City’s Nick Lebrun wins FLW Bass Fishing League Cowboy Division tourney