Home Sports-Free Men’s college basketball: Three Bulldogs earn Conference-USA postseason honors

Men’s college basketball: Three Bulldogs earn Conference-USA postseason honors


Louisiana Tech Strategic Communications

RUSTON – Louisiana Tech’s Kenneth Lofton, Jr.Cobe Williams and Kaleb Stewart each earned Conference USA postseason honors in an announcement made by the league office Monday.
Lofton, Jr. was voted First Team All-Conference USA while Williams was named All-Conference USA Honorable Mention as well as a member on the All-Defensive Team.  Stewart was one of five true freshmen selected to the All-Freshman Team.
Lofton, Jr. currently leads LA Tech in scoring with an average of 16.4 points per game (fifth most in C-USA), having recorded 25 double-digit scoring games as well as eight 20-point performances while shooting 54.0 percent from the field (second best in C-USA). 

The power forward, who was a Third Team All-C-USA selection last season, is also averaging a league-best 10.5 rebounds per game, which ranks 10th in the country.  He has totaled 16 double-doubles, which is the ninth most in the nation.  He is currently the only player in Division I men’s college basketball to have amassed at least 475 points, 300 rebounds, 80 assists, 35 steals and 20 blocks.
Not only did the Port Arthur, Texas native average a double-double during conference play (15.3 points and 10.8 rebounds), he was also one of just four C-USA players to tally at least 65 assists and 25 steals during league action.       
Junior becomes the fifth Bulldog to be named First Team All-Conference USA along with DaQuan Bracey (2020), Erik McCree (2017), Alex Hamilton (2016) and Speedy Smith (2014, 2015).

Williams was one of 10 players to receive Honorable Mention honors after having a stellar season during conference play.  After averaging 7.4 points during non-conference, the point guard ended up averaging over 14.0 points per game during C-USA play (17th-best in the league) while shooting 42.1 percent from the field and 38.3 percent from beyond the arc. 
The Dallas, Texas native has scored in double figures 18 times this season (17 in his last 22 games).  For the season, he also anchored the Bulldogs in assists with 97, which ranked 14th in C-USA. 
And for a second straight season, Williams was one of five players to be named All-Defensive Team (third Bulldog along with Michale Kyser and Speedy Smith to be a two-time selection).  He has totaled 35 steals this season while anchoring a LA Tech defense that ranks No. 2 in defensive efficiency in conference.

Stewart becomes the fifth Bulldog in program history to be named to the C-USA All-Freshman Team.  The Atascocita, Texas native has averaged 11.3 minutes per game this season.  He has totaled 93 points scored while shooting 38.9 percent from the field, a perfect 9-for-9 from the foul line and has a team-best 2.3 assist/turnover ratio (23 assists to 10 turnovers). 
LA Tech begins postseason play on Wednesday, March 9 against the winner of FIU and Marshall.  Tipoff is set for 6 p.m. CT at the Ford Center at The Star and will be streamed live on ESPN+.

For all the latest in Bulldog Basketball, follow them on Twitter (@LATechHoops), Instagram (@LATechHoops) and Facebook (LATechMBB).

— Featured photo by Kane McGuire
Men’s Basketball Postseason Awards
As voted on by coaches/media/SIDs
All-Conference First Team
Jordan Walker, UAB
Kenneth Lofton, Jr., Louisiana Tech
Jahmir Young, Charlotte
Dayvion McKnight, WKU
Tylor Perry, North Texas
All-Conference Second Team
Souley Boum, UTEP
Josh Jefferson, Middle Tennessee
Thomas Bell, North Texas
Taevion Kinsey, Marshall
Austin Trice, Old Dominion

All-Conference Third Team
Quan Jackson, UAB
Jamal Bieniemy, UTEP
Tevin Brewer, FIU
Carl Pierre, Rice
Alijah Martin, Florida Atlantic
All-Conference Honorable Mention
Michael Forrest, Florida Atlantic
Camron Justice, WKU
Cobe Williams, Louisiana Tech
Jacob Germany, UTSA
Jamarion Sharp, WKU
Donovan Sims, Middle Tennessee
KJ Buffen, UAB
Travis Evee, Rice
Josh Anderson, WKU
Tyler Stevenson, Southern Miss
All-Freshman Team
Aly Khalifa, Charlotte
Aaron Scott, North Texas
Teafale Lenard, Jr., Middle Tennessee
Rashad Bolden, Southern Miss
Kaleb Stewart, Louisiana Tech
All-Defensive Team
Jamarion Sharp, WKU
Quan Jackson, UAB
JJ Murray, North Texas
Cobe Williams, Louisiana Tech
Thomas Bell, North Texas

Previous articleCollege football: Demons set to open spring practice Tuesday
Next articleLouisiana Higher Education Institutions to Document, Preserve Women’s Experiences in State Politics