Home Higher Ed NSU’s Potpourri wins yearbook award

NSU’s Potpourri wins yearbook award


NATCHITOCHES – The American Scholastic Press Association recognized Northwestern State University’s 2014-2015 yearbook, Potpourri, as a first place winner in the category of college yearbook.

“Your yearbook shows excellence in the fields of writing, photography and page design and contains elements/sections of an effective yearbook that will be treasured for years to come,” according to the ASPA award letter.NSU Official SEAL

Former Editor Jordan Smith directed a staff of 19 in producing the book. They included Associate Editor Jessie Gabor, Designer Nicholas Myers, Lead Photographer Karalee Scouten, Fall Copy Editor Olivia Martzell, Photographers Derrick Notice, Katelon Ramos and DeAna Meshell; Staff Writers Apryl Jenkins, Brian Cook, C.J. Webster and Kathleen Barkley; Writers/Photographers Chelsea Taylor and Emily Fontenot; Satellite Campus Writers Lisa Lee, Joy Hill and Jordan Creasey; Online Writer Vanessa Posey; Fall Social Media Director Alexis Reliford and Freshman Scholar Hunter Horton. NSU Photographer Gary Hardamon, photographers Chris Reich and Tra’Van Cooper also contributed to the book.

“I am very proud of the entire staff,” Potpourri Advisor Stephanie Masson said. “These awards recognize the hard work of everyone involved in the yearbook process at NSU.”

Potpourri is an independent student media organization. Students plan, design and produce the book. Coverage runs from February to February of each year, allowing the staff to feature many campus events.

The 2015-2016 Potpourri is in production and should be available in late April. Distribution dates and times will be announced.

For more information, visit the Potpourri Facebook page at www.facebook.com/NSUPotpourri.

Previous articleCarlson: A tough choice
Next articleBrown: Giving is a reward…no matter what


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here