Home Sports-Free Parish players honored on All-District 1-I soccer teams

Parish players honored on All-District 1-I soccer teams

Russell Hedges



Two Bossier Parish players earned individual honors on the boys and girls All-District 1, Division I soccer teams selected by the coaches.

Airline senior defender Gabe Rodriguez was named Defensive MVP on the boys team. Parkway sophomore Sara Funderburk earned Offensive MVP honors on the girls team.

Funderburk is one of three Parkway players on the first team along with senior midfielder Madeline Wheelahan and sophomore center defender Miranda Scotten.

Funderburk scored 12 goals and had six assists during the regular season. She helped Parkway finish tied for second in the district. The Lady Panthers advanced to the second round of the playoffs.

Three other parish players made the boys first team — Haughton senior forwards Benny Broadway and Kade Schufft and Airline junior defender Esteban Guervara.

Three Airline players made the boys second team — defender Jacob Mainiero, midfielder Art Villareal and Bryan Medrano. Parkway forward Michael Raybine also made it.

Five Airline players made the girls second team — midfielders Mandy Sparkman and midfielder Madi Morris, forward Savannah Howell, and defenders Carol Thompson and Claire Reisor.

Parkway center defender Liz Knight, forward Mackenzie Kleinpeter and goalkeeper Madelyn Elliott were also second-team selections.

Airline’s boys honorable mention selections were Collin Jimes, Nick Rizzo, John Luke McFarland, Mang Tang Ryan Jameson and Robert Spraggins.

Parkway’s were Blake Bertrand, Jorge Caal, Hentarious Harrison and Tracy Stephens.

Haughton’s John Tomb also made honorable mention.

Airline’s girls honorable mention selections were Madi Walter, Jordan Travis and Rebecca Shumate.

Parkway’s were Morgan Ersoff, Sara Anderson and Taylor Gilbreath.

Haughton had three honorable mention selections — Taylor Breed, Lindsay Fay and Sydney Post.

Andrew Doughty of district champion Captain Shreve was named the Overall MVP on the boys team, and Shreve’s Stephen Slack earned Coach of the Year honors.

Caddo Magnet’s Justin Nham was named the Defensive MVP.

Sara Donohue of district champion Byrd was named the Overall MVP on the girls team.

Byrd’s Erin Arcement was named the Defensive MVP and Lisa Levermann Coach of the Year.








Previous articleStory of Old Minden Girls College
Next articleRobert Stanley Morris