Home Sports-Free Parish wrestlers dominate All-Area team

Parish wrestlers dominate All-Area team

Russell Hedges



With 10 of 13 first-team selections, Bossier Parish wrestlers dominated the 2014 Northwest Louisiana All-Area team selected by the coaches.

Parish wrestlers also garnered two of the three individual awards.

Parkway’s Jason Pitts was named Outstanding Wrestler in the 106-132 pound divisions. He was the state runner-up in the Division II 120-pound division.

Benton’s Andre’ Dean earned the same honor in the 138-170 pound divisions. Dean won the state title in the Division II 152-pound division.

Byrd’s Quin Gilliam was named Outstanding Wrestler in the 182 and above divisions. Gilliam won the state title in the Division I 220-pound division.

Airline’s Joey Burton, who guided the Vikings to parish and regional titles, was named Coach of the Year.

Other first-team selections from parish schools were Parkway’s Alex Simmaly (113 pounds), Airline’s Christian Walden (126), Airline’s Tony Lococo (132), Parkway’s Hunter Huckaby (138), Benton Division II state champion Jordan White (160), Airline’s Harrison Hooper (170), Bossier two-time Division II state champion Jalen Oliver (182) and Airline’s Keegan Gilligan (195).

Second-team selections from parish teams were Airline’s Javarious Jones (113), Parkway’s Ryan Huckaby (126), Benton’s Jeff Lewis (138), Parkway’s Zac Funderburk (145), Bossier’s Avery Jones (152), Bossier’s Chris Hall (170), Airline’s Tyler Almond (182), Bossier’s Isaiah McKinsey (195) and Airline’s Eric McGuire (285).

Parish wrestlers making honorable mention were Haughton’s Zach Denton (106), Parkway’s Nathan Pitts (132), Benton’s Tre’ Pugh (145), Benton’s Layton Spears (170), Haughton’s Brandon Tolliver (182), Airline’s Emilio Rogers (220) and Benton’s Chauncey Taylor (285).

Previous articleSoftball: Parish teams pick up wins in tournament
Next articleBaseball: Parish 1-5A teams off to solid start in district play