Home Sports-Free Parkway, Benton win cross country district titles

Parkway, Benton win cross country district titles


Parkway and Benton swept the boys’ and girls’ titles in the District 1-5A and 1-4A cross country meets, respectively, Saturday.

Parkway also swept the individual titles in the 1-5A meet. Hayden Kingfisher won the boys’ title, covering the 3-mile Camp Forbing course in 15 minutes, 40 seconds. Teammate Jacob Hammons finished second in 16:40.

Parkway scored a near-perfect 18 points, placing five runners in the top six. Airline finished runner-up with 54 points and Caddo Magnet was third with 91.

Sara Funderburk won the girls’ title in 18:59. Airline freshman Isabelle Shamblin was third in 20:30.

The Parkway girls scored 24 points to 48 for runner-up Airline. Parkway placed eight runners in the top 11. Only the top five count in the scoring.

Benton’s Stephen Singleton won the boys’ District 1-4A title, and Loyola’s Kaitlin Tanner won the girls’.

Other Parkway boys in the scoring were Cole Billiot (4th, 16:50), Nathan Poovey (5th, 16;51) and Prynce Fant (6th, 16:52). DJ Morgan, Cameron Rogers and Alex Davis finished 9th, 10th and 11th, respectively. Christian Nevins was 13th and Simon Moradel 15th.

Kaleb Sahlie led Airline with a seventh-place finish in 17:01. Teammate Seth Papineau was eighth in 17:15.

Other Airline boys in the scoring were Nate Godeaux (12th), Clifton Haacker (16th) and Mark Mitchell (18th).

Other Parkway girls in the scoring were Ariel McGaffey (4th, 20:31), Kenzie Langen (5th, 21:08), Celeste Cordova (6th, 21:14) and Lindsey Hutcheson (8th, 21:43 ). Rylie McConnell, Morgan Ersoff and Carly Hanson finished 9th, 10th and 11th, respectively.

Airline’s Maya Randle finished seventh in 21:28. Other Airline girls in the scoring were Bethanie Dunn (12th), Abby Garza 13th and Rachel Yarrington (14th). Shadericka Edwards finished 15th, Emilee Burns 16th and Anneliese Jones 17th.

No further details were available on the District 1-4A meet.

Previous articleAlabama downs LSU in OT
Next articleBPCC women raise record to 4-1