Home Sports-Free Parkway QB Wudtee named 1-5A offensive MVP

Parkway QB Wudtee named 1-5A offensive MVP

Parkway junior quarterback Keondre Wudtee has been named the offensive MVP on the All-District 1-5A football team selected by the district’s coaches.

Wudtee completed 136 of 236 passes for 2,544 yards and 29 touchdowns with nine interceptions. He led the Panthers to an 8-2 record. Parkway finished 4-1 in the district, a game behind Byrd, which defeated the Panthers 17-10 in overtime.

Byrd senior linebacker Krishun Cash was named the defensive MVP. The Yellow Jackets finished 12-1 after losing to West Monroe in the quarterfinals of the 5A playoffs.

Parkway placed six other players on the first-team offense — senior running back Demetrius McAtee, senior lineman Kameron Eloph, senior wide receiver Jared Lancaster, senior receiver/running back William McKnight, senior tight end Artavious Lynn and junior receiver C.J. Morgan, who was named as an “athlete.”

McAtee, a three-year starter who also played some his freshman year, rushed for 290 yards on 40 carries and scored three TDs. He also caught 14 passes for 225 yards and two touchdowns.

Lancaster caught 44 passes for 682 yards and six TDs. McKnight rushed for 484 yards on 75 carries and scored 12 touchdowns. He also caught 19 passes for 454 yards and seven TDs.

Lynn caught 27 passes for 514 yards and nine TDs. Eloph is a Louisiana Tech commitment. Morgan caught nine passes for 141 yards. He also played defensive back and had three interceptions and a forced fumble.

Parkway placed four players on the first-team defense — senior linemen Kyle Still and Willie Johnson, senior flex Dante Williams and senior defensive back Juwon Johnson.

Still was in on 58 tackles. He had seven solo tackles for loss and five sacks. Willie Johnson was in on 50 tackles, including five solo for loss.

Williams was in on a team-leading 96 tackles, including 39 solo. He also forced five fumbles and recovered a blocked punt for a touchdown. Juwon Johnson was in on 52 tackles and had two interceptions.

Haughton, which went 9-3 and finished third in the district, put four players on the first team — senior quarterback Will Haines, junior running back Kei’Untre Normandin, senior offensive lineman Ja’marcia Banks and senior receiver Javonte Woodard.

Haines, a University of the Incarnate Word commitment, accounted for 31 touchdowns in the regular season. He completed 94 of 178 passes for 1,355 yards and 16 touchdowns with five interceptions. He also rushed for 703 yards on 116 carries and scored 15 TDs.

Normandin was Bossier Parish’s leading rusher. He gained 828 yards on 121 carries and scored five touchdowns. Woodard caught 34 passes for 613 yards and five TDs.

Airline, which went 4-7 and finished fourth in the district, put six players on the first team — junior running back Shuncee Thomas, junior offensive lineman Colton Prater, junior receiver Cameron Howell, senior defensive lineman Charlie Matthews, senior linebacker Alex Brooks and junior defensive back Xavier Johnson.

Thomas rushed for 751 yards on 138 carries and scored 10 touchdowns in 10 games. Howell caught 38 passes for 618 yards and six TDs for the full season.

Matthews, a Northwestern State commitment, had 29 tackles, including five for loss, despite being double-teamed much of the season. Brooks had a team-high 87 tackles. Johnson had 42 tackles and two interceptions.

Parkway’s second-team selections were senior running back Stacy McCray, senior offensive lineman Dillon Long, junior offensive lineman Nicolas Holt, junior defensive lineman Kyler Marrus, junior linebacker Ryan Black, junior linebacker Semaj Tarver, senior linebacker Kaleb Monroe, senior flex Hunter Huckaby and junior defensive back Lloyd Cole.

Haughton’s second-team selections were sophomore wide receiver Antonio Woodfork, senior defensive lineman Mason Moreau and senior linebacker JT Bledsoe.

Airline’s second-team selections were sophomore quarterback Noah Hildebrand, senior offensive lineman Caleb Thomas, sophomore wide receiver Harvey Calhoun, junior defensive lineman Tyler McCallister, junior linebacker Vertrain Allen, junior defensive back Tyrice Neal and sophomore punter Bryce Bailey.

Parkway players making honorable mention were Peyton Bush, Mikel Smith, Miles Landingham, Lederean Patterson and Juwon Johnson. Haughton players making honorable mention were Garrett Malone, Kody Cameron, Duncan Smith, O’Shun Smith and Quentin Brown. Airline players making honorable mention were Jake Beshea, D’Juan Byrd, Cameron Taylor, Blaine Reeder, Peyton Coker, Quintaveous Taylor, Keondre Dawson, Deveal Granville, John Davis and Alex English.

Previous articleStore offers holiday shabby-chic to Bossier homes
Next articleAll-District 1-5A football team