Home Sports-Free Prep football: Benton’s Hable named District 1-4A offensive Co-MVP

Prep football: Benton’s Hable named District 1-4A offensive Co-MVP

Benton sophomore quarterback Garrett Hable has been named the co-MVP on the All-District 1-4A football team selected by the coaches.

Hable shares the honor with Minden senior wide receiver L’Jarius Sneed. Minden junior linebacker Zikerrion Baker was named the defensive MVP.

Hable completed 210 of 398 passes for 2,409 yards and 24 touchdowns with 11 interceptions. He also rushed for 240 yards on 56 carries and scored five touchdowns.

Hable led the Tigers to 9-1 regular-season record and 10-2 overall. Benton went 7-0 in district play.

Sneed, a big play receiver, caught 23 passes for 720 yards, an average of 31.3 yards per catch, and 10 TDs. He also rushed 24 times for 293 yards, a average of 12.2 yards per carry, and scored five touchdowns. Sneed scored a touchdown every third time he touched the football.

Baker led the Tide with 103 tackles, including nine behind the line, and five sacks.

Benton placed five other players on the first-team — sophomore running back Jermaine Newton, junior offensive lineman Colton Sessions, senior wide receiver Clayton Festavan, senior defensive lineman Chauncey Taylor and senior defensive back Zeke Barnett.

Bossier had one first-team selection — senior offensive lineman Rhykime Smith.

Newton rushed for 1,063 yards on 205 carries and scored 13 touchdowns. He also caught 29 passes for 338 yards and two touchdowns.

Festavan caught 55 passes for 666 yards and seven touchdowns. Sessions blocked for an offense that averaged almost 40 points per game in the regular season.

Taylor had 46 tackles, including five for loss, and five sacks. He also had eight quarterback hurries and forced three fumbles.

Barnett had 67 tackles and three interceptions.

Benton junior wide receiver John Westmoreland and senior offensive lineman Drew Brantley were second-team selections. Sophomore linebacker Jordan Myles made the second team at linebacker and athlete.

Bossier senior running back Aareon Smallwood, who rushed for 1,025 yards, senior defensive lineman John Langston and junior defensive back Keimun Daniels made the second team.

Benton’s honorable mention selections were wide receiver Doyle Adams Jr., offensive lineman Dylan Price, defensive lineman Jake Norris, defensive lineman TJ Anderson, linebacker Taylor Rivet and defensive back Dorsavion Williams.

— Russell Hedges, rhedges@bossierpress.com

Previous articleCollege basketball: BPCC women continue winning ways, receive votes in NJCAA Division I national rankings
Next articleAll-District 1-4A football team