Home Sports-Free Prep football: Parkway QB Wudtee named 1-5A offensive MVP for second straight...

Prep football: Parkway QB Wudtee named 1-5A offensive MVP for second straight year

For the second year in a row, Parkway quarterback Keondre Wudtee has been named the offensive MVP on the All-District 1-5A football team selected by the district’s coaches.

Wudtee completed 192 of 321 passes for 3,466 yards and 34 touchdowns with 12 interceptions in 14 games. He also rushed for 401 yards on 87 carries and scored five TDs.

Wudtee led the Panthers to a 9-1 regular-season record. Parkway shared the district championship with Byrd and Evangel. The Panthers finished 12-2, losing to No. 2 seed and eventual state champion Zachary 41-27 in the semifinals.

Parkway senior CJ Morgan, a running back and receiver, was also named to the first team for the second year in a row. He was selected as an “athlete” on the offense.

Morgan rushed for 685 yards and scored nine touchdowns. He also caught 39 passes for 753 yards and 10 TDs.

Parkway placed eight other players on the first team — junior running back Robert McKnight, sophomore wide receiver Terrace Marshall, senior wide receiver Deonte’ Hawkins, senior offensive linemen La’Darean Patterson, senior offensive lineman Nickolas Holt, senior linebacker Ryan Black, senior linebacker Semaj Tarver and senior defensive back Lloyd Cole.

McKnight rushed for 958 yards on 123 carries and scored 20 touchdowns. He also caught 33 passes for 526 yards and five touchdowns.

Marshall caught 53 passes for 1,348 yards and 14 touchdowns. Hawkins had 25 catches for 503 yards.

Patterson and Holt blocked for an offense that averaged 40.6 points per game.

Black had 51 solo tackles and 77 assists. He was in on 16 tackles for loss and forced six fumbles. Tarver had 42 solo tackles and 82 assists. He was in on 15 tackles for loss.

Cole led the Panthers with 66 solo tackles and 70 assists. He defended nine passes and returned an interception for a touchdown.

Airline placed six players on the first team — senior running back Shun’Cee Thomas, senior tight end Cameron Howell, senior offensive lineman Colton Prater, senior placekicker Gabe Rodriguez, senior defensive lineman Tyler McCallister and junior linebacker Josh James.

Thomas rushed for 1,051 yards on 172 carries and scored 16 touchdowns. He also caught 12 passes for 121 yards and a touchdown.

Howell caught 22 passes for 422 yards and two touchdowns. He was also an outstanding blocker in the run game, Coach Bo Meeks said.

Prater is a two-time first-team selection who is headed to Texas A&M.

Rodriguez was 39 of 39 on PATs. He also made seven of eight field-goal attempts with a long of 42.

McCallister had 30 solo tackles and 16 assists. He was in on 12 tackles for loss and six sacks.

James had 52 solo tackles and 20 assists. He was in on six tackles for loss and three sacks.

Haughton senior wide receiver Antonio Woodfork and junior placekicker Nico Broadway made the first team. Woodfork caught 25 passes for 314 yards and six touchdowns.

Broadway was perfect on 38 PAT attempts and made three field goals. He also consistently kicked the ball in the end zone on kickoffs for touchbacks.

Parkway placed seven players on the second team — senior tight end Elijah Rivers, senior offensive lineman Miles Landingham, senior placekicker Harrison Hopkins, senior defensive lineman Kyler Marrus, junior defensive lineman Nick So’oto and senior linebacker Greg Jones.

Airline placed nine players on the second team — junior running back Brian Fielding, senior running back Javarious Jones, senior offensive lineman Chandler Vascocu, junior linebacker Drew Brewster, sophomore linebacker Zylon Newson, senior defensive back D’Kameron White, senior defensive back Xavier Johnson, senior defensive back DeAngelo Pouncy and senior punter Bryce Bailey.

Haughton placed four players on the second team — senior running back Kei’Untre Normandin, junior wide receiver Josh Lister, senior offensive lineman Jonathan McCleskey and senior defensive back Jeremiah Wilson.

Parkway’s honorable mention selection were junior offensive lineman Dalton Meshell, junior linebacker Colten Nicholas and junior defensive back Malcolm Banks.

Airline’s honorable mention selections were senior offensive linemen Peyton Wilhite, Alex Villareal and Lane Williams, senior wide receiver D’Juan Byrd, junior wide receiver Harvey Calhoun, senior quarterback Thomas McKain, junior defensive lineman Courtney Turner, junior defensive back Bryson Vance, sophomore defensive back Jaylyn Thomas, senior defensive back Tyrice Neal and junior linebacker Josh Smith.

Haughton’s honorable mention selections were senior running back D’Kovin Ware, senior defensive lineman Chance Brown, junior linebacker Duncan Smith, senior defensive back T’Marquiese Winfield and senior defensive back TJ Sweeney.

— Russell Hedges, rhedges@bossierpress.com

Previous articlePrep football: All-District 1-5A football team
Next articleUPDATE: Warrant issued for suspect in apartment complex shooting