Home Sports-Free Seven Benton players make All-District 1-4A softball first team

Seven Benton players make All-District 1-4A softball first team


Russell Hedges

Seven Benton players have been named to the All-District 1-4A softball first team.
They are pitcher Gabby Kespelher, outfielders Chelsea Rangel and Yancy Cox, catcher Brittany Craig and infielders Taylor Thompson, Savannah Collo and Samantha Maranto.
Benton shared the district championship with North DeSoto, which also placed seven players on the first team. Benton finished 19-11. The Lady Tigers advanced to the state tournament, losing to North DeSoto in the quarterfinals.
Benton’s Sarah Koeppen and Alyssa Malone were named to the second team.
Northwood’s Jenna Blythe was named MVP.
Craig batted .457 and had an on-base percentage of .484. Thompson hit .347 and had a .400 OBP.
Maranto had a .446 average and an OBP of .441. Rangel batted .365 with a .452 OBP. Cox batted ,319, and. Kespelher hit 4.20. She also started almost every game for the Lady Tigers on the mound. Collo was a clutch hitter and an outstanding first baseman.
North DeSoto’s first-team selections were pitcher Emma Delafield; outfielders Stephanie Easter and Emily Henderson; and infielders Bayli Simon, Hailey Compton, Maddie Burchell and Sami Walters.
Loyola had three first-team selections — pitcher Kathryn Scrivener, and utility players Claire Riddick and Meredith Waltman.
Northwood outfielder Stormi Murray and catcher Kelsey Baker also made the first team.

Previous articleSpring football 2014: Guin’s absence felt at Haughton practices
Next articleSheriff seeking spirit stealing suspect