Home Sports-Free Softball: Five Benton players make first-team All-District 1-4A

Softball: Five Benton players make first-team All-District 1-4A

Five Benton players were named first team on the All-District 1-4A softball team selected by the district’s coaches.

Sophomore pitcher Ashley Hunter, junior infielder Abi Cole, senior outfielder Siara Erickson, junior outfielder Hallie Saintignan and junior designated player Sarah Koeppen all made the first team.

Hunter helped the Lady Tigers finish second in its 1-4A division to North DeSoto, which repeated as state champion Saturday in Sulphur. Benton’s only two district losses were to North DeSoto.

Hunter had a 2.258 ERA with 87 strikeouts in 93 innings.

Cole batted .308 with 11 doubles, two home runs and 14 RBI. Erickson batted .231 with five doubles and 11 RBI. Saintignan hit .447 with six doubles and 18 RBI. She had an on-base percentage of .459 and a slugging percentage of .511.

Koeppen, who had a .452 batting average, smacked 11 home runs and had a team-high 39 RBI. She also had 11 doubles and one triple. Koeppen had an on-base percentage of .571 and a slugging percentage of .946.

North DeSoto shortstop Bayli Simon was named the MVP.

North DeSoto pitcher Emma Callie Delafield was also a first-team selection.

Delafield has been the most dominant pitcher in 4A the last two seasons and one of the best in the state regardless of class her entire high school career. She pitched a no-hitter in the Lady Griffins’ 3-0 victory over Cabrini in the 4A title game.

Other North DeSoto first-team selections were junior infielder Sami Walters, junior infielder Ryann Cisco, senior outfielder Emily Henderson and sophomore outfielder Hailey Ebey.

Benton freshman infielder Makenzie Chaffin made the second team. Sophomore catcher Mackenzie McEntee was named honorable mention.

Bossier placed five players on the second team — pitcher Bailey Phillips, infielder Shana Baker, infielder Kyra Cassel, catcher Asya Walker and utilty Makayla Miller.

— Russell Hedges, rhedges@bossierpress.com

Previous articleAll-District 1-4A softball team
Next articleTed Cruz suspends presidential campaign


Comments are closed.