Home Sports-Free Spring sports athletes honored for academic achievement

Spring sports athletes honored for academic achievement


Russell Hedges

Benton’s Jordan Shaffer was a star on the baseball field and in the classroom.
Shaffer, a pitcher and shortstop who signed with Northwestern State, was one of 14 parish spring sports athletes named to LHSAA/Exxon All-Academic (all classes, divisions) teams in their respective sports.
To make a composite team, a senior athlete’s six- semester GPA must be one of the 18 highest in all classifications or divisions.
Shaffer was one of 12  composite team members from Bossier Parish who posted 4.0 averages.
The others were Parkway’s Carol Cash (softball), Allan Schaefer (baseball), Andrea Holley (tennis), Helen Sumner (tennis), Madeline Wheelahan (tennis) and Alison Ringle (track and field); Benton’s Cody Patterson (baseball), Austin Barton (golf) and Kelyn Bihm (tennis); Airline’s Collin Jimes (tennis); and Haughton’s Savannah Gray (track and field).
Haughton’s Victoria Kent (3.9184), Airline’s Sarah McComic (3.8596) and Benton’s Jacob Gates (3.9655) all made the All-Academic composite bowling team.
Making the Class 5A softball team were Airline’s Lindsay Fronzaglio  (3.9649), Carly McIntosh (3.8983), Ashley Salinas (3.6667), Katie Smith (3.5439) and Brooke Daugherty (3.6842);  and Haughton’s Brooke Payton  (3.9333), Haley Krumpelbeck (3.7083) and Haley Miller (3.6122).
Benton’s Taylor Thompson (3.7500),  Alyssa Malone (3.7193) and Brittany Craig (3.5370) made the Class 4A team.
Bossier’s Casey Johnson (3.8367), Angie Nguyen (3.6531) and Corey Johnson (3.5510) were Class 3A selections. Louisiana New Tech’s  Jacquelyn Jones (3.9259) and Carlie Cook (3.7800) made the Class 1A softball team.
Making the Class 5A baseball team were Haughton’s Matthew Sewell (3.9273), Brandon Hadley (3.9200), Will Turner (3.8148) and John Tomb (3.5102); Parkway’s Nathan Antee (3.900), Rob Harper (3.8367,  Matthew Scotten (3.7500), Jon Koestner (3.6250) and Hunter Knowles (3.6863); and Airline’s Will Goodwin (3.6140).
Class 4A selections were Benton’s Aaron Baker (3.8966), Peyton Leflett (3.6429) and Aaron Henigan (3.6429).
Making the Division I boys tennis team were Parkway’s Michael Konnovitch (3.7143) and Austin Brannon.(3.6701).
Benton’s Christopher Bates (3.8000) and Shane Kim (3.7917) were named to the Division II team.
Parkway’s Holly Lorance (3.8889) made the Division I girls team.
Benton’s Emily McDill (3.9636), Mary Slack (3.9630) and Megan Fream (3.8462) were Division II girls tennis selections.
Parkway’s Jeffery Scott (3.9423) and Airline’s Will Blackburn (3.9273) made the Division I boys golf team.
Making the Class 5A girls track team were Haughton’s Brittany Robinett (3.8776), Larissa Wells (3.7917) and Krumpelbeck; Airline’s Kaitlin Hawkins (3.7475) and Jasmyn Carswell (3.6667); and Parkway’s Julie Anderson (3.6780).
Benton’s Madi Sessions (3.8333) and Emma Owen (3.6667) made the Class 4A girls team.

Previous articleAirline picks up two wins in Haughton tournament
Next articleULL seeded 6th, LSU 8th in NCAA Baseball Tournament