Home Sports-Free Three Benton players first-team All-District 1-4A

Three Benton players first-team All-District 1-4A

Russell Hedges



Three Benton football players have been named first-team All-District 1-4A in a vote of the district’s coaches.

They are senior wide receiver Kordy Stewart, junior defensive back/punter Jordan White and junior linebacker Gage Carroway.

Stewart, who played varsity football for the first time this season, caught 57 passes for 638 yards, an average of 11.2 yards a catch, and seven touchdowns.

White averaged 38.7 yards on 41 punts. He had six downed inside the 20, including three inside the 10. As a defensive back, he had 53 tackles and three interceptions.

Jeff Thomas/Press-Tribune Junior Gage Carroway (44) is one of three Benton players on the All-District 1-4A first team.
Jeff Thomas/Press-Tribune
Junior Gage Carroway (44) is one of three Benton players on the All-District 1-4A first team.

Carroway led Benton with 94 tackles, including 18 behind the line and four sacks.

Benton placed six players on the second team — senior quarterback Jordan Shaffer, junior running back TJ Anderson, sophomore receiver Clayton Festavan, junior tackle Nick Starkweather, senior defensive lineman Caleb Gentry and junior Jaret Gill, a defensive playmaker who made it as an athlete.

Shaffer, a three-year starter who played in a pass-oriented offense for the first time, completed 227 of 364 passes for 2,157 yards and 24 touchdowns with 12 interceptions during the regular season.

Minden’s Turner Francis was the first-team quarterback. He completed 178 of 283 passes for 2,467 yards and 26 touchdowns with nine interceptions.

Anderson rushed for 518 yards on 98 carries and scored four touchdowns.

Festavan caught 57 passes for 567 yards and seven touchdowns.

Gentry had 42 tackles, including nine for losses, one interception and two forced fumbles.

Five Tigers made honorable mention — junior wide receiver Tyler Stephens, junior guard Tucker Fulco, kicker Bailey Grimes, defensive back Austin Simmons and junior defensive back Shane Cram.

Northwood senior Aaron Verales was named the Offensive MVP.

Verales moved from running back to quarterback after starter Jerrick Peterson was injured in the first game of the season. He moved back to running back after Peterson, last season’s All-District quarterback, returned late in the season.

Vareles completed 92 of 148 passes for 1,626 yards and 15 touchdowns with only one interception. He also rushed for 477 yards on 83 carries and scored nine touchdowns. He was the Falcons’ punter, too, averaging 36 yards.

Woodlawn senior Donovan Wilson was named defensive MVP. Wilson was a first-team selection at both receiver and defensive back.

He caught 57 passes for 823 yards, an average of 14.4 yards per catch, and eight touchdowns. Defensively, he had 13 interceptions and five forced fumbles.Ǟ

Previous articleParish should be thankful for coaches that care
Next articleNetworking